Pink Elephant

Good news, guys… I decided to write one more post because I’m back in the Valley!!! just for 2 weeks though…

So today for lunch I went to Pink Elephant, a Thai-Japanese restaurant on Sherman Way because my brother recommended it to me.  My brother found this restaurant because Yelp recommended it to him.  THUS even if you don’t trust my reviews and my opinions, at least you now know that everyone else liked it, so you should like it too.

Pink Elephant sticks out as a bright little restaurant sandwiched between a number of older pizzerias, bars and eclectic shops.  With the sun streaming in from the store front, the interior of the restaurant looks like a page right out of an Ikea catalog, with bright orange chairs and white tables.  Walk up to the counter, and you’ll find baskets filled with Asian snacks and a bright menu overhead with mainly Thai cuisine.  So if you’re craving sushi or some other Japanese food, this is not the place to go. For the full menu, go here

A lot of the dishes here were spicy (they apparently have a spicy scale from 3-10), but I’m not really a fan of anything spicy.  So I stuck with the Pad See Ew.  Classic flat rice noodle with beef, onions, egg and broccoli — everything tasted pretty good, the ingredients all tasted really fresh and it had a lot of flavor.  There was also a lot pepper on it, not sure if that was a plus or a minus.

We also ordered the Pineapple Fried Rice which not only had pineapples but also cashews, raisins, onions, chicken and curry powder.  Overall the flavors were a lot more subtle than the Pad See Ew, and it tasted a bit dry.  Still I loved the mixture of the sweetness of pineapple and raisin, the crunchiness of the cashews, and the saltiness of the chicken and the rice.

I also ordered a iced Thai tea that was good, but a bit overwelming in its sweetness and flavor.  In the end, I enjoyed the meal because of its flavor and ingenuity, however it didn’t make it to my list of “must-eats” when I come home.

Address: 22039 Sherman Way
Canoga Park, CA 91303

One Response to Pink Elephant

  1. martha says:

    you should have tried lemon grass on farralone and sherman way. they are a bit slow, but really good pineapple fried rice!

Leave a comment